Book Escape in New West: Reviews & News

From suspenseful reads to literary tweeds…

Book Review – Neil Gaiman’s The Graveyard Book

Image

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

What a completely charming book! Now I know why Neil Gaiman has won so many awards for this. The Graveyard Book is a children’s novel, but an adult would enjoy it just as much – I know I did.

It starts off as a typical mystery with murder near the beginning.  The book though becomes more about the coming of age of the main character. It is a page turner, and you will want to know the outcome of the boy. Will he live or die? Will he leave the graveyard or not? A premise, which could perhaps seems silly, eloquently entices you into its world and assimilates you completely.

What I loved the most about this book is the incredible imagination of Neil Gaiman. I had heard the name Neil Gaiman before but did not know that the movie, Coraline, was from a previous novel of his. Coraline is also a haunting romp of twists and turns as is The Graveyard Book. Both display originality that it is difficult to find in today’s times of rehashed movies and stories. I am sure that The Graveyard Book will be adapted for film as well.

My only, and very small, disappointment was an escape sequence reminiscent of a computer game from the 1980s called Zork 2, a game before graphics and video. The trick may not have been original to Zork either. I remember my extreme frustration at not being able to solve that part of the quest, and my older brother had to tell me how to escape. So, for a younger generation, they may be amazed by the creativity of this escape, but I was not – nicely nostalgic though.

Thank you, Neil Gaiman, for making me smile and making me care. I will read more of your work and refer on – a highly recommended read.

2 comments on “Book Review – Neil Gaiman’s The Graveyard Book

  1. Véronique
    August 13, 2012

    I haven’t read The Graveyard Book, but from your review it sounds like I would enjoy it. I liked American Gods very much and Stardust even more. Someday I am going to have to read and/or see Coraline.

  2. I actually Believe that article, “Book Review – Neil Gaimans The
    Graveyard Book Book Escape in New West: Reviews & News” was in fact great!
    I personallycouldn’t agree along with u more! At last seems like I personallydiscovered a blog website worthy of reading through. Many thanks, Curtis

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 16, 2012 by in Books, Children's, Fiction, Horror and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Goodreads

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 792 other followers

Pauline Probyn

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

